Wednesday, 14 December 2016

Check It Out #31 (14/12/16)

1. Still - field trip
November saw New York based field trip release their new album 'Horror Vacui', and 'Still' is one of seven tracks from the release. Champ (vocals/drums), Nico (guitar), Phillip (synths), Jason (guitar) and Will (bass) have created a funky, lo-fi pop sound with swirling harmonies, steady beats and guitar lines and synths that surf straight through the middle of each track. Enjoy! 

2. Miss You - Gabrielle Aplin
Gabrielle Aplin has returned with an irresistibly catchy and resonant new single 'Miss You', the lead track from her forthcoming EP of the same name. Aplin's debut album 'English Rain' is now certified Gold in the UK, and contains a run of top 10 singles. Since then, Gabrielle has spent eighteen months touring internationally, and racking up a further three #1 singles worldwide. She also released her sophomore album 'Light Up The Dark' in 2015 and has started up her very own record label 'Never Fade Records'. Now she's back with a matured pop sound and we're all excited to hear more! 

3. Dimensions - Computer Magic
New York based artist, Computer Magic, arrived recently with her debut EP 'Obscure But Visible'. Sitting comfortably between 90's inspired electronic rock, house tracks of the 00's and contemporary aesthetics, this is arguably some of Computer Magic's (aka Danielle Johnson) best work yet. Step into this brilliant digital world of sounds and visuals, you're not going to want to leave... 

4. In Your Eyes - Nick Wilson
Nick Wilson is a 21 year old singer/songwriter from Bucks and has just signed an indie deal with LAB Records. His last EP 'Bright Eyes' has racked up 800,000 Spotify streams and Nick's music has gained support from the likes of tmrw, CLASH, and Indie Current, to name a few. He now returns with anthemic single 'In Your Eyes', this is Nick's first step in a different direction, if you've listened to his music before you'll recognise this is a little different, and I'm excited to see what his next release will offer; we all know it'll be good! 

5. Shot The Sun Down - Ghost Lion
Ghost Lion started as a project from South Florida native, Blake Hanley (vocals / guitar) and Bolivian native (drums / congas). Summer 2016 saw the band expand with Mike Torres (bass) and Chris Kapica (keys / synths), and they've been playing a monthly residency at Mid City Yacht Club in LA. Their debut EP 'Dim Echo' was released last month and is full of infectiously upbeat tracks, including 'Shot The Sun Down'. They explained that the song is 'an anthem about breaking through glass ceilings and fighting for what's right even against all odds'... 

Thanks for reading!
Music In Time Blog's Links:
Twitter: @musicintimeblog

No comments:

Post a Comment